Welcome Back 2017


Welcome back to the Spring Semester! We hope that you enjoyed your break and ready to jump back in to the Mason Nation! If you ever need anything, Student Government is here for you! Please feel free to contact us at any time. 

This semester, the Student Senate will meet at 4:30 on Thursdays and the Executive Cabinet will meet at 7:30 on Monday. Please check the Calendar for latest locations. 

The Student Funding Board’s deadlines for this semester are below. As a reminder, to apply and receive funding, your Event would need to be on GetConnected. 


This semester, in an effort to become more transparent with the work being done, Student Government is excited to have a monthly newsletter that is available to subscribe to here. This newsletter will be show highlights and progress on major projects within the organization.

Student Government is currently looking for students to join the Student Senate, a select number of positions within the Executive Branch, and Elections and Disputes Commission. If interested in more information, please fill out this inquiry form on GetConnected.gmu.edu.

Witch Watch 2016


Witch Watch is an annual event in which community members are invited to bring their children to campus for a safe trick-or-treating environment. Registered Student Organizations as well as Fraternity and Sorority Life give local children candy for Halloween. Your RSO can sign up by visiting the Forms tab on the Student Government GetConnected!

This year the event will be in outside of Merten Hall on the lawn. The event will be from 12-3pm on Saturday, October 29th. If you would like more information, please contact sg@gmu.edu

Fall 2016 Election Results

Below are the results for the Fall 2016 Freshman and Transfer Elections for Student Senate. Congratulations to all who were elected, and thank you to all who ran!

Candidate Name Number of Votes Received
Anastasia Slepukhova ELECTED 270
Shreetika Singh ELECTED 254
Connor Clayton ELECTED 252
Alex Lee ELECTED 239
Patrick Grady ELECTED 142
Danielle Hayden ELECTED 131
Emily Sexauer ELECTED 116
Matthew Borja ELECTED 98
Connor Lauer ELECTED 92
Kiera Johnson ELECTED 89
Jul Delaune 88
Samir Shah 88
Chris Machonis 87
Graciela Billingsley 76
John Hollinrake 72
Daniel Colombani-Garay 69
Clement Lupton IV 57
TJ Spencer 57
Joe Simms 49
Esteban Rodriguez 47
Dustin Cone 38
Farhat Noory 35
Whitney Smith 30
Anusha Khan 28

If you have any questions, please direct them to the Elections and Disputes Commission at sgedc@gmu.edu.

Student Government Weekly Update – April 21, 2016

Hey Patriots! Here’s a sneak peek of what we’ve been working on for you. As always, feel free to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to stay in the loop! @MasonStudentGov.

Election Results

Spring Election results were announced on April 18th. Congratulations to all the newly elected Senators and our President-elect Nathaniel Pittman and new Vice President-elect Gabriela Peda. Check out the full election results here: http://bit.ly/1Sdvmiz

Lunch with President Cabrera – April 25th

Ever wanted a chance to chat with our University President Dr. Cabrera? He’ll be having lunch with students in the JC Atrium on April 25th from 12 – 1:30 pm. Register ASAP to secure your spot! http://bit.ly/1qh2awj

2016-2017 Tuition Town Hall – April 25th

Next Monday, Senior Vice President of Administration and Finance, J.J. Davis, and Vice President of University Life, Rose Pascarell, will be giving us the details of next year’s proposed tuition increase. Come to our Tuition Town Hall to learn more and ask questions! We’ll be in Merten Hall Room 1201 from 1:30 pm to 3 pm.

Recent Legislation: Resolutions 31, 33

Today at our weekly Senate meeting there will be two resolutions discussed. The resolutions are: Resolution #31: A Resolution to Incorporate Sexual Assault Resources on Campus into University Syllabi and Resolution #33: A Resolution to Recommend the Establishment of a Fair Trade Steering Committee. To read more about these resolutions, stay updated with our legislation log here: http://sg.gmu.edu/legislation-log-3/

Weekly Senate Meeting

Our weekly Student Senate Meetings are always open to the public! This week, the Senate will be discussing multiple resolutions supporting events and initiatives for the Mason Community. Join us on Thursday, April 21st at 4:30 pm in Merten Hall room 1201 to learn more about what the Student Senate has been working on.

We’ve had such a great time working for you all this year. We hope you enjoy the rest of your semester and have a great summer!

April 21, 2016

Old Business:

New Business:

  • None

Committee Meeting Minutes:

April 14, 2016

Old Business:

New Business:

Committee Meeting Minutes:

Executive Cabinet Application is Open!

The Executive Branch is comprised of various positions appointed by the Student Body President and Vice President. They serve in directed liaison roles to serve the Mason community through various projects, events and initiatives. If you’re interested in serving on the Executive Branch of Student Government for the 2016-2017 academic year, visit http://sg.gmu.edu/get-involved/ and apply now!

Spring 2016 Election Results Announced!

On April 18th, the Elections and Disputes Commission announced the winners of the Student Government Spring 2016 Election. The following individuals have been elected to serve in term for the 2015-2016 academic year. Below are a list of the announced winners, as well as the official report released by the EDC. Additionally, the report will be made available in the Office of Student Involvement (on the following Advisors’ doors: Sara Heming, Phil Mcdaniel, and Jennifer Khoo) until Friday, April 29th, 2016. For more information, please email SGEDC@gmu.edu. Congratulations to our newly elected leaders and thank you to all the Patriots who voted!

For interested freshmen and transfer students entering Mason in the Fall 2016 semester, there will be a fall election to fill the remaining 10 seats of the Student Senate reserved specifically for you. For more information on that timeline, keep checking this website sg.gmu.edu or email Advisor Sarah Heming at smorrisr@gmu.edu.

EDC Official Election Report (please click):

  • Certification of Results
  • SPRING 2016 Election Report

Student Body President & Vice President Elects:

  • Nathaniel Pittman & Gabriela Peda

Student Senators-Elect (30):

  1. Nick Webb
  2. Greg Warren
  3. Ryan Powers
  4. Matthew Eiman
  5. Benjamin Olsen
  6. Hannah Carse
  7. Davide Genoese-Zerbi
  8. Cammie Wires
  9. Ja’Lisha Urquhart
  10. Jessica Green
  11. Danielle Gonyo
  12. Rebekah Pettine
  13. Nada Alabbar
  14. Keandra Diamond
  15. Nicholas Fisch
  16. Brendan Sullivan
  17. Caleb Kitchen
  18. Jalen Stubblefield
  19. Caitlin Lively
  20. Frederick Edwards
  21. Alicia Cedeño
  22. Jacob Koltisko
  23. Cody Pasielski
  24. Grant Pitarys
  25. John Helbling
  26. Meeghan Schrecongost
  27. James Anderson
  28. Kristian Scott
  29. Ahmed Mohammed
  30. William Acevedo