Meet the Student Senate

You will find all members of the student senate here.

Senate Leadership

Scott Tatum

he/him | ctatum2@gmu.edu

Speaker of the Senate

“Fiscal planning and transparency are my goals for the coming year, both for Student Government and the University as a whole. If they’re gonna keep raising out tuition, it’s only right we know where that money’s going. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions!”


Bas Rawat

they/he | krawat@gmu.edu

Speaker Pro Tempore

“During this school year, my goal is to reach out to Mason Departments and RSOs alike in order to establish trust between us. I also want to make sure Student Government is hearing students and their concerns, as well as recognize the different communities we have at George Mason. I want to make sure that this is a safe space for everyone, and that we are all celebrated.”


Austin Emery

he/him | aemery9@gmu.edu

Clerk

“I’m here to help the organization be in its best shape to help serve the student body! As a student senator, I have contributed to our sustainability and civic engagement programs. As the Clerk, I’ve helped make sure every piece of legislation that goes through the legislature is polished and displayed on our website! I look forward to helping SG’s wonderful programs grow and helping expand what the organization can do for the community!”


Committee Chairs and Liasons

Gabriel Curtis

he/him | gcurtis4@gmu.edu

Chair of Administrative and Financial Affairs


Charlotte Bell

she/her | cbell32@gmu.edu

Chair of University Services

“I am passionate about continuing to grow and improve the communication between Student Governments, the Student Body, and the University Services, as well as everything in between.”


Sreelu Veetil

she/her | sveettil@gmu.edu

Chair of University Life

“As Chair of the University Life Committee, I hope to rebuild and maintain working relations within departments like Title IX, Mason Recreation, SSAC, Contemporary Student Services, and other offices on campus that are essential to a fulfilling campus experience for students at Mason. I also aim to foster more engagement from within the student senate to work towards these goals – acting as a facilitator for discussions and providing support for the successful execution of initiatives to make tangible impacts on university life at Mason.”


Ilia Sheikholeslami

he/him | isheikho@gmu.edu

Chair of Government and Community Relations

“I aim to improve civic engagement at Mason and strengthen our relationships with the City of Fairfax and our local, state, and federal governments.”

‎‎


Griffin Crouch

he/him | gcrouch3@gmu.edu

Chair of University Academics

“I’m working on expanding opportunities for students, encouraging civic engagement on and off campus, and fighting for transparency, accessibility, and quality for Mason’s services!”


Maria Alejandra Romero Cuesta

she/her/ella | mromeroc@gmu.edu

Chair of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs and Outreach Liaison

“Hi everyone! This year I hope to improve both the social and cultural life here at Mason!”


All Senators

Maaz Abbasi

he/him | mabbasi9@gmu.edu

Senator


‎‎Gibran Adnan

he/him | gadnan@gmu.edu

Senator

“As a Government & International Politics major, I jumped on the opportunity to join Student Government immediately, and look forward to talking to the student body about any issues they want resolved. I hope to implement many ideas throughout my time in the Student Senate, with my main goal being improving student life as a whole — especially on weekends — and just generally having more activities around campus.”


Marzana Afroz

she/her | mafroz@gmu.edu

Senator

“As a devoted member of the Student Government, my core mission is to actively represent and advocate for the diverse voices of our student body. I am passionate about creating an inclusive and dynamic environment where every student feels heard, valued, and empowered.”


Ryan Afshar

| rafshar2@gmu.edu

Senator


Farhan Babar

he/him | mbabar2@gmu.edu

Senator

“Just a normal guy”


Ty Carson

he/him | tcarson6@gmu.edu

Vice-Chair of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs

“My goal is to strengthen the connection between Senate and the student body, and the Registered Student Organizations to create a positive change.”


Felipe Casas

he/him | fcasasav@gmu.edu

Vice-Chair of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs

“My goal is to strengthen the connection between Senate and the student body, and the Registered Student Organizations to create a positive change.”


Lacey Eckert

she/her | leckert4@gmu.edu

Senator


Sueda Erdogan

she/her | serdogan@gmu.edu

Senator


Kaylee Fernandez

she/her | kferna4@gmu.edu

Vice-Chair of Government and Community Relations

“Hello, everyone! This year, I’m thrilled to represent the interests of the student body and advocate for a university that works for everyone. My primary goals are to increase our direct dialogue with students, promote long-lasting civic engagement, and strengthen our relationship with Mason faculty in order to initiate academic change. Let’s do this!”


Ellie Fox

she/her | lfox22@gmu.edu

Vice-Chair of University Services


Caden Garofalo

he/him | cgarofal@gmu.edu

Senator

“I am committed to promoting environmental sustainability, mental health awareness, and on-campus activities. I love representing students on campus and doing my best to get all the resources that fit your needs!”


Jack Gibson

| jgibso7@gmu.edu

Senator


Madison Hepler

she/her | mhepler@gmu.edu

Vice-Chair of University Life

“Hi! I’m hoping to work towards increasing visibility of university resources so that all students can have access to them.”


Jawad Hosseini

he/him | jtorabi@gmu.edu

Senator


June Johnson

she/her | jjhon95@gmu.edu

Senator

My name is June and I joined student government with a passion for a better funded athletic program, as well as a push for a more active Mason community. I’m so happy to be involved, so feel free to reach out with any questions or ideas!


Grace Martinez-Cora

she/they | gmarti33@gmu.edu

Senator


Andres Moreira-Mendez

he/him | amoreir@gmu.edu

Senator


Glenda Patterson

she/her | gpatter6@gmu.edu

Senator

“I plan to be an advocate and representation for more young women to become engaged in politics and leadership roles. I believe that having more young women in leadership roles further creates a diverse community and world! follow @ignitegeorgemason on IG for more info!”


Dean Richter

he/him | drichte@gmu.edu

Senator

“This year I plan to promote mental health services and all the different helpful resources here on campus to help students”


Zara Saemi

she/her | zsaemi@gmu.edu

Senator

“Hello everyone,

My mission is to create a safe and inclusive space for all. My focus is mental health peace and equity, a life that can help you thrive besides thriving with your academics. A community that is there for you to celebrate you. 

Thank you”


Aditi Sharma

she/her | asharm50@gmu.edu

Senator

 


Lee Turner

he/him | cturne9@gmu.edu

Senator


Peter Weiss

he/him | pweiss5@gmu.edu

Senator


Aleeza Zainab

she/her | azainab@gmu.edu

Senator

“As a member of Student Government, my passion lies in fostering inclusivity and creating meaningful opportunities for underrepresented students. I am eager to collaborate with school ambassadors and the Office of Career Services to organize networking events tailored specifically for this demographic.”


Marzia Zaman

| mzaman21@gmu.edu

Senator

Questions, Suggestions, Concerns?

Success!